Finacle UBS Internet Explorer Settings

· Saturday, October 24, 2026
SBActive
OM No.
-
Category
SB
Date
12 May 2015
Effective from
—
Summary

This technical guide specifies the standard Internet Explorer browser settings required for operating Finacle Universal Banking Solution suite applications across versions 10.1.x through 10.6.x and 11.x. It details configuration parameters spanning temporary file caching, privacy, proxy connections, security levels, and browser-specific requirements from Internet Explorer 6.0 SP2 onwards.

  • The prescribed settings apply to Finacle UBS installations 10.1.x, 10.2.x, 10.3.x, 10.4.x, 10.5.x, 10.6.x, and 11.x using Internet Explorer version 6.0 SP2 to latest releases, referencing the document Finacle_UBS_Internet_Explorer_Ver8_Dos_and_Donts.doc for version 8 and above browser guidelines.
  • Temporary Internet files settings must be set to check for newer versions automatically, with a minimum cache storage size of 50MB, text encoding set to Unicode (UTF-8), and the default language configured as en_us.
  • Pop-up blocker must be turned on with the bank URL added to allowed sites, and the Privacy slider must be set to High with the bank domain added under Sites with the Always Allow setting.
  • In environments where a proxy server is configured, the bank domain URL must be entered in the Do not use proxy list under LAN Settings in the Connections tab.
  • Under the Advanced tab, Use HTTP 1.1, Use JRE xxx under Java(Sun) if available, and Use SSL 3.0 under Security must be selected, while Display notification about every script error must be unchecked.
  • Under Local Intranet zone custom security settings, Display Mixed Content under Miscellaneous must be set to Disable.
  • For Internet Explorer version 8 and above, User Data Persistence must be enabled, and where organization software hardening is implemented, the buttons Default Level and Reset all zones to default level in the Security tab must be disabled.
  • For Internet Explorer version 9 and above, Enable Caret browsing for new windows and tabs and Enable XSS filter must be disabled, the domain must be added to Compatibility View for CRM screens, unsigned and unsafe ActiveX controls must be enabled for SVS signature scanning, and Open Internet Explorer tiles on the desktop must be checked on Windows 8.
Document text

PDF drawing p1-1

Internet Explorer Settings for Finacle UBS

PDF drawing p1-2

INFOSYS TECHNOLOGIES LIMITED

Bangalore, India

Infosys Technologies Limited, 2015 Page 1

Document Revision History

Author Document
Version
Reviewed By Date
Mahantesh N Goture0.00a Anupkumar
Murulidhara Putane
April 6, 2009
Mahantesh N Goture1.0 Anupkumar
Murulidhara Putane
April 27,2009
Sudarsan K. 2.0  December 14, 2009
Lekha R 3.0  December 17, 2009
Sudarsan K. 4.0  December 03, 2010
Sudarsan K 5.0  April 30, 2012
Sudarsan K 6.0  June 20, 2012
Vimal
Damodaran
7.0 Sudarsan K August 7, 2012
Sudarsan_k 8.0  August 12, 2013
Sudarsan_k 9.0  December 11, 2014
Sudarsan_k 10.0  May 12, 2015

The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. All software products or brand names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or organizations.


1. Introduction

This document explains Internet Explorer settings for Finacle UBS installation 10.1.x, 10.2.x, 10.3.x, 10.4.x, 10.5.x, 10.6.x, 11.x. This document explains Internet Explorer (version IE6.0 SP2 to the latest IE) Settings for applications in Finacle UBS suite.


Pl. refer to “Finacle_UBS_Internet_Explorer_Ver8_Dos_and_Donts.doc” for certain “Do and Don’ts for IE version 8 and above browsers”


2.Finacle UBS Internet Explorer Settings.


Please follow the below Internet Explorer settings for Finacle applications.

PDF drawing p4-1

Step
Description
1.
Click on Tools 🡪 Internet Options 🡪 Settings and select automatically radio as shown below figure 1.

Figure 1
2.
Ensure that cache storage size is minimum 50MB. Please refer Figure 1 (step 1)


StepDescription
3.
Click on the Privacy tab and click the Default Level button. Finacle needs pop-ups facility to be enabled. Our recommendation is to enable Block pop-ups (or Turn on Popup Blocker) as shown in the below figure 2 and add *<bank domain name> to Allowed sites list as shown in the below figure 3.Figure 2

PDF drawing p5-1

Step
Description
 

Figure 3

Step
Description
4.
Please set the below Privacy settings.
Move the slider bar up set to High (please refer Figure 4)
1. Click on Sites.
2. Type *.<domain name> in the Address of Web site box. Example : bankdomain.com
3. Click on Allow and make sure you see *.<domain name> with the Always Allow setting in the Managed Web Sites box as shown in figure 5.

Figure 4

PDF drawing p6-1

Step
Description
 

Figure 5

Step
Description
5.
Please perform this step only when Proxy server is configured. Click on the Connections tab and LAN Settings. If proxy is enabled, then add entry for *.<domain name> in “Do not use proxy” box. Please specify the bank URL here example *.bankdomain.com. Please refer below figure 6.
Figure 6


Step
Description
6.
Click on Advanced tab and select the following settings (if already not selected)
1. “Use HTTP 1.1” setting under HTTP 1.1 settings (please refer figure 7 below)
2. “Use JRE xxx” under Java(Sun) (If available)
3. “Use SSL 3.0” under Security. Please refer figure 8.

Figure 7


Step
Description
7.
Figure 8
Step
Description
8.
Locale settings in browser: Click on Tools 🡪 Internet Options 🡪 Languages … The default language must be en_us as shown below figure 9.

ettings Guide

Figure 9

PDF drawing p11-1

Step
Description
9.
Go to Tools 🡪 Internet Options 🡪 Security 🡪 Local Internet 🡪 Custom Level 🡪 Miscellaneous 🡪 Display Mixed Content 🡪 Disable should be checked as shown below figure 10.
Figure 10


Step
Description
10.
Go to Tools> Internet Options > > Advanced > Browsing> Display notification about every script error – Should be unchecked (not sure about default value) as shown below figure 11.
Figure 11
11.
Click on Apply and then OK.
Step
Description
12.
Click on View 🡪 Encoding and select Unicode (UTF-8) as shown in the below figure 12.
Figure 12


Step
Description
13.

 For IE browsers version 8 and above, do the following setting.

Tools > Internet Options >Security > Internet/Local Intranet Zone > Custom Level > Settings > User Data Persistence > Enable the setting. figure 13a & 13b.

Figure 13a, 13b.



Step
Description
14.
14.If the above mentioned settings are already done as part of the organization’s software hardening process, make sure of the following is done specifically for IE versions above 8.0.

Go to Tools > Internet Options > Security tab, the buttons “Default Level” and “Reset all zones to default level” should be disabled as shown in the below figure 14.

Figure 14


PDF drawing p18-1

Step
Description
15.
The below mentioned setting applicable to IE9 and above. Users should not be allowed to enable this setting or it should be done as part of organisation’s software hardening process.
Go to Tools->Internet Options->Advanced tab, under ”Accessibility” section “Enable Caret browsing for new windows and tabs” should be disabled as shown below in figure 15.Figure 15


Step
Description
16.
The below mentioned setting applicable to IE9 and above. This is required for CRM screens to come up.
Go to Tools-> Compatibility Settings. Add the current domain or check on “Display intranet sites in Compatibility View” check-box as shown in Figure 16.
Figure 16



Step
Description
17.
The below mentioned 2 steps are required in case of scanning signature in SVS application needs to be done.

Click on “Custom Level…” button from Figure2 -> Go to “ActiveX controls and plug-ins” sub-title (refer Figure 3)

Figure 17



Step
Description
18.
Mark the highlighted settings as “enabled”

1. Download unsigned ActiveX controls
2. Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe for scripting

Figure 18

Step
Description
19.
Below setting is required from IE9 onwards.

Mark the highlighted settings as “disabled” under Security > custom settings 
1. Enable XSS filter

Figure 19



Step
Description
20.
Below setting is required in Win8 desktop.
Check box "Open Internet Explorer tiles on the desktop" to be checked.

Figure 20

Amendment history
Issued
12 May 2015 · -
Discussion 0 notes
Ask a question or add a note…
Saved rulings

Admin access

Enter the admin PIN to unlock editing on this post.

Enter the 6-digit code emailed to the admin address, then choose a new PIN.